A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

Archive for February 29, 2012

Just Smoke – Or is it More?


Probably the most important question of the human kind, the one thing that we all strive to discover, to understand is the purpose of us living. Do we have a purpose other than creating fossil fuel for the next generations? Is there any other greater , higher , more “divine” meaning ?

I find it very hard to believe that we live this earthly life just so we go to haven, stay there for eternity, maybe have a conversation of a thousand years on a white fluffy cloud with an angel called Gheorghe, who’s only reason for being in haven is that he was born in a forgotten village , far away from civilization, and he never had the chance to indulge with an amazing bottle of wine, or enjoy the sight of a gorgeous woman, smoke a fine cigar and play poker with his friends, or discover that first teenager kiss that sends chills down your body and makes you realize what comes with being a man ,so therefore he had a pure soul. Or maybe go to hell, meet Copernicus boiling there in a huge incandescent iron pot just because he had this crazy revelation that beyond that beautiful evening sky, there might just be more than some tiny lights that entertained him with their flickering . (mmm…not bad, at least I would have some decent conversation with this Copernicus…).

Heaven and Hell sound very poetic and spiritual, but to me it doesn’t sound much more than those amazing fairy tales that grandma used to make me fall asleep when I was a little boy and made me wish that one day I could become the bravest knight the world has ever seen, and I would defeat the evil once and for all, I will marry the princess and live happily ever after in my castle (with couple of PlayStations around and my most beloved remote control car of course ). Now here I don’t want to mock the believers , it is just my opinion and that’s all so don’t jump at my neck.

There might just not be other purpose for us living than for our bodies to become maggot’s food, fertilize some tiny piece of land and contribute to the creation of some fine Brent or West Texas Intermediate crude for the future generations.

Maybe the desire of finding , learning and understanding our purpose , the purpose of us living, comes solely from the humans desire for greatness. If we are the supreme species we really must be “supreme beings” and it has to be a higher purpose for us, we can not be like those dears in the forest, just a small part in the ecosystem and on the food chain.

I do incline to believe that the soul purpose for us is what we make it to be because we are rational , emotional and incurable dreamers. Very complex mixture that shouldn’t work together for when you are emotional and a dreamer, you often are not rational. If we find, as individuals, that thing that makes us feel truly happy and fulfilled , then we find that purpose. That higher meaning of life can only be individual. It really is what we make it to be.

As for the purpose of our species…I say “Heil Oil, Coal and LNG” for this three will probably still rule for a long time to come and , ironically , we will probably contribute to the chemical process used by the forces of nature to produce them for eternity.

If all I wrote makes sense…it is just my humble opinion, and if it doesn’t just take it as a crazy idea so you don’t feel offended by some of my insinuations.