A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

Portraits of Congo

Portraits of Congo

These are two of my favorite images I was lucky enough to capture on a trip to DR Congo earlier this year. On the first one, while listening to heartbreaking stories from refugees that fled the violence in Central African Republic and learning from my good friend and writer Azad Essa on how an interview should be conducted (honored to have had the chance to tag along with him), this kid was staring at me through a poorly built fence. I recognized his face as he was curiously following us for couple of hours or so.

The second image was shot in the same location, a small street in a town called Zongo located in Sud-Ubangi District in Équateur Province in the northwestern part of the DR Congo. I stepped away to enjoy a much needed smoke and a short break from the sadness of the stories heard through the day, and this child was just laying there on the tree trunk. He made eye contact with me but didn’t move a muscle – he just sat there. I still wonder what he was thinking about.

Portraits of Congo

Leave a Reply

