A VIEW OF THE WORLD THROUGH MY CAMERA LENS

Art…?????

I have recently watched a documentary were Roger Scruton (writer and philosopher) raises the issue of the importance of beauty an the lack of it in modern arts. That made my mind wonder a bit around the obvious questions… How far can we push ART?(in my case photography)… Can any image be called art…?…there is really no more beauty in modern art (or at least in most of it…)? It might just be that our perception of beauty changed a bit mostly due to the lives we are more or less forced to surrender to by the society of today! With those thoughts disturbing my winter frozen neurons I wanted to force a bit the limit and create some sort of “modern art”. Starting from this idea and with inspiration from the quote “eyes are the window to the soul” (or “…the mirror of the soul”, there are more variations to this quote) my intellect and imagination quietly baked for a couple of days, I have taken countless photos and managed to come up with the image bellow.This is no special image, no special techniques were used other than some Photoshop tweaking; nothing really amazing.Is just something that makes me think about the existence and the mystery of my own soul.

So my question is: ***IS THIS IMAGE ART…?*** and ***WHY?***

I would be quite honored if you would give it a few minute and write down a comment with your opinion and help me find an answer…!!!

3 responses

  1. I say its art because some thought process was put into it to convey a message… whether it was successful or not, thats for the audience. Thats my opinion 🙂

    February 15, 2012 at 19:59

  2. Jamie

    I think it can be. In my opinion, it’s introspective. What I mean is for me it’s showing a couple emotions… initially my mind flows to the persons eyes, you can see a lot and tell a lot by someone’s eyes. Therefore… in a sense the eye is speaking to me… to a persons soul (per-say?)… the eye is the view into ones personal space, so to speak. We get a lot out of someone’s eyes right when we first meet them… are they angry? pissed off? shy? flirting with you? overtly confident? don’t give a damn? yes… I think the eye is artistic… art for me, an escape into ones soul, regardless if it’s a painting, sculpture, photograph (or any other form of artistic ability) when given to the audience to ‘judge’ we are seeing that artists ‘soul’ in a manner of speaking. I think we can see what you are seeing for example;
    we might not feel the exact emotion you were trying or attempting to portray when you initially lifted that camera to your eye and snapped a shot of perfection… but, it still gives us a glimpse and allows us a brief gift of seeing through your eye. So, yes, I believe this photograph can be considered art, it reflects feeling, emotions, makes a person think… and isn’t that what art is? Makes us consider outside the box and the boundaries in which we find ourselves within?
    The definition of art is: The expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form…

    February 15, 2012 at 19:10

  3. Certainly it is art. Art allows you to experience life or some aspect of it. Safely. Without having to go through the experience. And in doing so it also allows you to reflect. Safely.

    February 15, 2012 at 16:26

Leave a Reply

